Procurement Council



CPPC Passion for Procurement Award


In 2023 the Canadian Public Procurement Council introduced the CPPC Passion for Procurement Award.  The goal of this award is to recognize the time and effort spent working in and advocating for the public procurement environment and those who work within it.  Many awards recognize expertise in this profession, achievement of higher education or contribution to the growth of an association, but we couldn’t find any that focussed on passion. Passion is a huge contributor to the success of an organization as a whole and on individual projects, and might be, in interactions with clients, in the relationships built with suppliers, in the communities we serve and most importantly the colleagues we work with.  Passion is also a key element in our quest to elevate the procurement profession.

The award is not for a specific position or necessarily for those who have achieved a certain level of education. This is for those that exhibit a true passion for procurement and inspire others to feel the same.

The award will be presented every year at the CPPC Forum.  If you are passionate about your profession or if you know someone that is, we want that individual to become a nominee for this award!

Eligibility requirements are as follows; Nominees must be:

  • in an active public procurement role for at least two years;
  • working for a government agency that is currently a member of the CPPC with a membership in good standing.

Who can be nominated?

  • Subject to eligibility requirements above, anyone can nominate anyone;
  • There are no requirements related to function and titles and/or roles and responsibilities of an individual if the eligibility requirements are met.

What we ask that you submit:

  • the name and title of the nominee;
  • the number of years of experience the nominee has in public procurement;
  • the name of the organization employing the nominee;
  • a narrative clearly highlighting why you think the nominee should earn this award and how the passion in the profession was demonstrated.

As an option you may wish to include testimonials of colleagues, clients or other stakeholders (including suppliers and community stakeholders) who clearly can attest to the passion observed in the nominee.

Once all nominations are received, an evaluations committee will then evaluate submissions.  It is your responsibility to ensure that your narrative clearly shows why you think that your nominee should earn this award.

AEP Award

The CPPC is a proud sponsor of The Achievement of Excellence in Procurement Award (AEP) which is earned by public and non-profit organizations that obtain a high score based on standardized criteria.

This program was established in 1995 by the National Procurement Institute (NPI) to recognize organizational excellence in public Procurement.

All sizes and types of public and non-profit organizations have been successful applicants. Counties, cities, school districts, states, special districts, and universities, both public and private, are eligible. The judging criteria are designed as benchmarks of procurement excellence and measure:

  • Innovation
  • Professionalism
  • Productivity
  • Leadership
  • e-Procurement



Tooting your own horn is difficult. However, with the AEP program, the most prominent professional procurement associations are recognizing your organization’s performance. This program encourages the development of excellence as well as continued organizational improvement to earn the award annually. The award is received by all that attain a minimum score of 100 on a rating of standardized criteria. In 2023, 194 organizations earned the AEP Award. The evaluation is conducted by an independent committee.


In order to receive consideration for the award, organizations are required to submit a detailed application with supporting documentation.

Review the criteria in the application (please note changes) and determine if your procurement organization meets these requirements. Your organization needs to score 100 points. There is a “self-scoring sheet” in the application. If you are at 100 points or only slightly above, it is highly recommended that you again score your organization and be very objective. Almost all first-time applicants have points deducted.

It is also recommended that you contact a previous winner (a list of all recipients is posted on the AEP website) to discuss the application process.